THE ESSENTIAL BASICS FOR THE AFRICAN WOMAN.

Let’s be honest we have all seen the basics that make up the wardrobe so many times I can’t actually keep up. Most of them are usually suited for the European weather, like why do I need boots in this hot Nigerian weather, even during the coldest season that’s hamarttan I still don’t wear boots.
I decided to compile a list I feel is more suitable for my location. Enjoy..
1. ANKARA MAXI DRESSES
You can never run away from your roots, being African & Nigerian the ankara fabric in all it’s gloriousness is worned all year round there is never a bad season for it, cold, hot, dry season it’s always there. As far as I’m concerned every black person should have a piece even if it’s a sock period.

image

image

image

2. NEUTRAL SCARVES
As a Muslim the scarf is an essential part of my daily life, which makes it’s way on the list. I usually go for neutral colours because it goes with every outfit, our fabrics tend to be bold and colourful so it tones it down.
image

3. NEUTRAL SHOES
My go to colours are black, nudes, silver, gold, currently I’m on the hunt for a flat nude slippers because the gold one I’m using needs to retire unfortunately.
image
image

4. COVER UPS
Kimonos, light weight Cardigans, wraps and capes.. My go to is the kimono, I usually tend to go for chiffon it’s the lightest I throw is over a sleeveless, backless or strapless outfit.
image

image

image

5. A BLACK HANDBAG AND CLUTCH
I know the trend now is the coloured bags but trust me nothing saves the day like a black clutch or bag for an impromptu outing where you didn’t get the time to plan your outfit.
image

image

6. A PAIR OF DARK JEANS
It makes you look slimmer plus you can pair it with any colour of blouse you fancy and it’s practical.
image

image

7. BLACK BLAZER
Perfect for the workplace, just fold the hands and use a belt to sinche in the waist for dinner dates with friends.
image

image

8. POLKA-DOTS
Yes yes I am a polka dot groupie it reflects in all aspect of my life I even have it on pj’s. It has the three C’s chic, classy, cool plus it’s girly what’s not to love about it see I convinced you already.
image

Leave a Reply

